About your hearing

The moment of your hearing has arrived, and you would like to know how things will unfold and how to behave to maximize your chances of success. Here's a summary of what's awaiting you, along with some recommendations to help you.

Before your hearing begins

justitia-2638601_960_720.png

The arbitral tribunal is less formal than the Court, but certain rules of propriety must still be observed. The first rule is to be punctual: your arbitrator will have communicated to you the place of your hearing, and you should plan to get there a little in advance. This will save you unnecessary stress. Also plan to wear a suitable and sober outfit.

 

You will normally be able to drink water or a hot drink during the hearing.

 

Make sure you carry a valid ID with photo, because the arbitrator will want to confirm your identity before starting. You should also put your cell phone, pager, smart watch or other electronic device on mute, and keep them out of sight.

You will sit at a table with the arbitrator and your opponent. The witnesses will normally be taking a back seat, or may even be asked to wait in another room. The arbitrator will take a moment to explain the proceedings to you and give you some appropriate reminders, then he will administer an oath to you and your opponent. The hearing can then begin.

During the hearing

It is important to be courteous and respectful at all times, both to the referee and to your opponent and witnesses. You should refer to the referee and call him "Madam" or "Sir" unless he is entitled to a specific call because of a professional title, such as "Master". Throughout the hearing, you must address the referee, not your opponent or the witnesses. Listen to the questions to the end before answering them, take your time to formulate your answer, and do not hesitate to ask the arbitrator to rephrase his question if you are not sure you have understood it correctly. If you have a question to submit to the opposite party, you should not ask it directly; you will put it to the referee, and he will redirect it to your opponent if he deems it relevant.

The arbitrator will first question the plaintiff to obtain his statement, to know his position and to understand his claim. The turn of the defendant will come next, as will the hearing of the witnesses. You must only speak when you have been invited to do so by the arbitrator, and in particular, you should never interrupt or speak over anyone else. Similarly, disrespectful non-verbal language, such as sighs, rolling your eyes or inappropriate gestures, should be avoided: it could undermine your credibility and hurt your cause. Never be impulsive or impatient: you will have the opportunity to say everything you have to say when your time comes.

 

If the arbitrator asks you a question, you must answer it directly and immediately. You cannot avoid or refuse to answer a question, or ask the arbitrator to come back to it later. If you do not know the answer to the question, do not hesitate to say so. Also avoid elaborating unnecessarily or digressing to other topics; stick to what is asked.

judge-gavel-1461291738X4g.jpg

Once everyone's version of the facts has been heard, the arbitrator may invite each party to present a pleading for his case.

 

If the hearing takes a long time, or if the parties feel a need for it, the arbitrator may award a recess of a few minutes.

After the hearing

Lady justice 6.png

If the hearing ends while some points have yet to be settled (for example, if all the witnesses have not been heard due to lack of time), the arbitrator may adjourn the hearing and determine a date for its resumption. If the arbitrator has all the elements to make his decision, he will end the hearing and take the case under advisement in order to draft his arbitration award.

 

According to the law, deliberation cannot exceed three months, but it is usually much faster at Arbitrage Montreal. The arbitrator will send his arbitration award to the parties by email. The arbitration award has the same value as a judgment of the Court. The parties have the obligation to comply with it without delay and in good faith. If it becomes necessary, the arbitration award may even be homologated with the Court in order to enforce its execution.

The arbitrator will send his bill to the Parties at the end of the process, and will return the balance of their advance.

Questions? Uncertainties?

If you have any questions about your hearing, do not hesitate to contact us!

Le déroulement de votre audience

Le moment de votre audience est arrivé, et vous aimeriez savoir comment les choses vont se dérouler et comment vous comporter pour maximiser vos chances de succès. Voici un résumé de ce qui vous attend, ainsi que quelques recommandations pour vous aider.

Avant l’ouverture de l’audience

Le tribunal arbitral est moins formel que la Cour, mais certaines règles de bienséances doivent tout de même être observées. La première règle est d’être ponctuel : votre arbitre vous aura communiqué le lieu de votre audition, et vous devriez prévoir d’y arriver un peu à l’avance. Cela vous évitera un stress inutile. Prévoyez également de porter une tenue convenable et sobre.

 

Vous pourrez normalement boire de l’eau ou une boisson chaude durant l’audience.

Assurez-vous d’avoir sur vous une pièce d’identité valide avec photo, car l’arbitre voudra vérifier votre identité avant de débuter. Vous devriez également mettre votre téléphone cellulaire, téléavertisseur, montre intelligente ou autre appareil électronique en sourdine, et les garder hors de vue.

Vous prendrez place à une table avec l’arbitre et votre adversaire. Les témoins seront normalement en retrait, voire dans une autre pièce. L’arbitre prendra un moment pour vous expliquer le déroulement de l’audience et vous transmettre quelques rappels de circonstance, puis il vous fera prêter serment ainsi qu’à votre adversaire. L’audience pourra alors débuter.

Durant l'audience

Il est primordial d’être courtois et respectueux en tout temps, aussi bien envers l’arbitre qu’envers votre adversaire et les témoins.  Vous devriez vouvoyer l’arbitre et l’appeler « Madame » ou « Monsieur », à moins qu’il n’ait droit à un appel spécifique en raison d’un titre professionnel, comme « Maître ». Tout au long de l’audience, vous devez vous adresser à l’arbitre, et non pas à votre adversaire ou aux témoins. Écoutez les questions jusqu’au bout avant d’y répondre, prenez votre temps pour formuler votre réponse, et n’hésitez pas à demander à l’arbitre de reformuler sa question si vous n’êtes pas certain de l’avoir bien comprise. Si vous avez une question à soumettre à la partie opposée, vous ne devez pas la lui poser directement; vous la poserez à l’arbitre, et celui-ci la redirigera vers votre opposant s’il l'estime pertinent.

L’arbitre interrogera d’abord la partie demanderesse pour obtenir sa déposition, connaître sa position et comprendre sa demande. Le tour de la partie défenderesse viendra ensuite, de même que l’audition des témoins. Vous ne devez parler que lorsque vous y avez été invité par l’arbitre, et surtout ne jamais interrompre ou parler en même temps que quelqu’un d’autre. De même, le langage non-verbal irrespectueux, comme les soupirs, le roulement des yeux, les gestes déplacés, sont à éviter absolument : cela pourrait miner votre crédibilité et nuire à votre cause. Ne soyez jamais impulsif ou impatient : vous aurez l’occasion de dire tout ce que vous avez à dire au moment opportun.

Si l’arbitre vous pose une question, vous devez y répondre directement et immédiatement. Vous ne pouvez pas éviter ou refuser de répondre à une question, ou demander à l’arbitre d’y revenir plus tard. Si vous ne connaissez pas la réponse à la question, n’hésitez pas à le dire. Évitez également d’élaborer inutilement ou de digresser vers d’autres sujets; tenez-vous en à ce qui est demandé.

Lorsque la version des faits de chacun aura été entendue, l’arbitre pourra inviter chaque partie à offrir une plaidoirie pour sa cause.

 

Si l’audience se prolonge, ou que les parties en ressentent le besoin, l’arbitre pourra décréter une pause de quelques minutes.

Après l'audience

Si l’audience se termine alors que certains points ne sont pas encore réglés (par exemple, si tous les témoins n’ont pu être entendus, faute de temps), l’arbitre pourra ajourner l’audience et déterminer une date pour sa reprise. Si l’arbitre dispose de tous les éléments pour prendre sa décision, il mettra fin à l’audience et prendra la cause en délibéré afin de rédiger sa sentence arbitrale.

 

Selon la loi, le délibéré ne peut excéder trois mois, mais il est généralement beaucoup plus rapide chez Arbitrage Montréal. L’arbitre enverra sa sentence arbitrale aux parties par courriel. La sentence arbitrale a la même valeur qu’un jugement de la Cour. Les parties ont l’obligation de s’y conformer, sans délai et de bonne foi. Si cela devient nécessaire, la sentence arbitrale peut même être homologuée auprès de la Cour afin d’en forcer l’exécution.

L’arbitre fera parvenir sa facture aux Parties à la fin du processus, et leur reversera la balance de leur avance.

Des questions? Des incertitudes?

Si vous avez des questions sur le déroulement de votre audience, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous!