Evidence during your arbitral trial

During an arbitration, your chances of success depend largely on the evidence you submit. Even if you tell the truth, the arbitrator is not obliged to take your word for it: you must present evidence that supports your claims.

The burden of proof

To have the "burden of proof" is to be the person responsible for proving that his or her version of events is the right one. Depending on the circumstances, the burden of proof may be on you, or on your opponent.

 

You do not need to convince the arbitrator that you are right beyond a reasonable doubt. You only need to show that your version of events is more probable than your opponent's. The more you base your claims on quality evidence, the more you will tip the scales in your favor!

judge-gavel-1461291738X4g.jpg

 

Types of Evidence

Writings

Writings usually constitute excellent evidence, and may even be necessary in many cases. Writings include notarial acts, contracts, business writings (such as invoices, quotes, pay stubs), or various other papers such as handwritten notes, e-mails, text messages, publications on social media, letters, diaries, etc.

Testimony

Although this is not the most convincing type of evidence, testimony remains widely used in arbitration hearings. The witness will come to tell the arbitrators facts that he or she has personal knowledge of: he or she will tell the story of what happened, telling what he or she saw and heard. The arbitrator will judge whether the testimony seems credible to him, and whether the version of the facts it presents concords with the rest of the evidence. A witness must stick to the facts, and not give his or her personal opinion. A witness may gain credibility if his or her testimony is supported by written evidence.

Be aware that, in some situations, testimonial evidence is prohibited.

Expert reports

The arbitrator is familiar with the law, but his knowledge may be limited in other areas. For example, if your case involves technical issues in terms of auto mechanics, computer programming or medical care, the arbitrator will need to be informed by an expert's opinion to settle the dispute.

The expert is a person whose training or advanced experience in a particular field allow him or her to give qualified opinions on this subject. The expert does not need to have personally witnessed the facts of the dispute and, unlike ordinary witnesses, can give his or her opinion on the questions put to him or her. This will be left to the discretion of the arbitrator.

Admissions

An admission is a recognition or acknowledgement, by one of the parties to the dispute, of facts that harm or contradict one's claims. An admission can result from a writing, speech, gestures or actions. For example, if your opponent claims that he loaned you money, while you claim it was a gift, you would have made an admission if at any point you had discussed reimbursement: the fact that you talked about reimbursement is an admission on your part that the contract between the two of you was a loan and not a gift. If your opponent has made an admission, you should point it out to the arbitrator!

Real Evidence

Real evidence is a physical object that you wish to show to the arbitrator. In the case of an item that cannot be brought with you on the day of your hearing, additional evidence will be required to allow the arbitrator to view it (for example, photos or a video). If you intend to use real evidence, mention it in your claims.

Not all evidence has equal strength!

Lady justice 6.png

Some evidence will be very convincing for the arbitrator, while another will not be. To be convincing, evidence must first and foremost be relevant to the debate. For example, if you claim that your opponent did not respect his contract with you, it would not be relevant to have someone who has had a similar problem with him testify to try to show that your opponent is a person that is unreliable or not true to his word.

When you have several ways to prove your claims, you must provide the best evidence. If you do not submit the best evidence, you leave doubt in the mind of the arbitrator. For example, if you have signed a written contract with your opponent, it will be more convincing to hand this contract over to the arbitrator, rather than providing him with an email or text message in which your agreement is mentionned.

Finally, it is worth remembering that the original version of an evidence is always better because it is more reliable.

 

Prohibited evidence

Be mindful that some evidence may not be accepted by the arbitrator! Here are some examples.

Irrelevant evidence

As explained above, your evidence must be relevant to the dispute to be settled by the arbitrator. Your arbitral trial should not be used for personal attacks or other quarrels between your opponent and you, which have nothing to do with your legal dispute. For example, if you sue your ex-boyfriend to recover your car with which he left, it is not relevant to submit evidence that he cheated on you with your best friend during your relationship. Even if that is the reason why you split, it has nothing to do with your ownership of the vehicle. Likewise, certain elements may be related to the litigation that concerns you, but do not prove anything.

 

Evidence infringing on fundamental rights and freedoms

 

You cannot submit evidence obtained under conditions that violate the rights and freedoms guaranteed by the Canadian Charter or the Quebec Charter. For example, you could not use as avidence emails or text messages obtained through unauthorized access to someone else's computer or phone, or evidence obtained through a break-in at someone's home. Indeed, doing so would constitute violations of the right to privacy or the right to the inviolability of the home. Not only would this evidence be inadmissible, but you could also expose yourself to criminal prosecution!

 

Hearsay

 

A witness can only report facts which he or she has been personally aware of. It is not acceptable in a testimony to report facts that have been told by another person. This is called hearsay, and is not admissible as evidence. Rather, the person who has first-hand knowledge of the events should be the one to testify.

 

Testimony to contradict or modify a written contract

 

Words fly away, writings remain! Except in exceptional cases, it is not possible to contradict or modify the terms of a written contract through a testimony. For example, if you signed a contract with the other party for $ 8,000, but you later agreed orally to reduce the price to $ 6,000, you will not be able to use your testimony to prove that the price was reduced.

 

Testimony to prove contracts over $ 1,500

 

Testimony is generally not admissible when it comes to proving the existence or content of a contract of a value exceeding $ 1,500. However, there are two exceptions to this rule:

 

The existence of other evidence

 

If the testimony is accompanied by other valid evidence to support the existence of the contract or its content, then it will be admissible. For example, an invoice, an email, a bank statement, a photograph, a text message, etc., can make the testimony acceptable.

 

The contract concluded in the context of business activities

 

If you were the client of a company, your testimony could be used to prove the existence of a verbal contract with it. On the other hand, the company could not, in turn, prove the existence of the contract by means of a testimony.

Questions? Uncertainties?

If you have questions about the evidence to be presented during your audition, do not hesitate to contact us!

La preuve lors de votre procès arbitral

Lors d’un arbitrage, vos chances de succès reposent en bonne partie sur la preuve que vous soumettrez. Même si vous dites la vérité, l’arbitre n’est pas tenu de vous croire sur parole : vous devez présentez des éléments de preuve qui soutiennent vos prétentions.

Le fardeau de la preuve

Avoir le « fardeau de la preuve », c’est être la personne responsable de prouver que sa version des faits est la bonne. Selon les circonstances, le fardeau de la preuve pourrait reposer sur vous, ou sur votre adversaire.

 

Vous n’avez pas besoin de convaincre l’arbitre que vous avez raison hors de tout doute raisonnable. Vous devez seulement démontrer que votre version des faits est plus probable que celle de votre adversaire. Plus vous appuirez vos prétentions sur des preuves de qualité, plus vous ferez pencher la balance en votre faveur!

Les types de preuves

Les écrits

Les écrits sont généralement d’excellentes preuves, et peuvent même être nécessaires dans plusieurs cas. Parmi les écrits, on retrouve les actes notariés, les contrats, les écrits d’entreprises (comme les factures, les devis, les talons de paie), ou bien divers autres papiers comme les notes manuscrites, les courriels, les textos, les publications de réseaux sociaux, les lettres, les agendas, etc.

Les témoignages

Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas du type de preuve le plus convaincant, le témoignage demeure très utilisé lors d’audiences arbitrales. Le témoin viendra raconter à l’arbitre des faits dont il a eu personnellement connaissance : il fera le récit de ce qui est arrivé, en relatant ce qu’il a vu et entendu. L’arbitre jugera si le témoignage lui semble crédible, et si la versions des faits qu’il présente concorde avec le reste de la preuve. Un témoin doit s’en tenir aux faits, et ne pas donner son opinion personnelle. Un témoin peut gagner en crédibilité si son témoignage est appuyé par des preuves écrites.

Attention, car dans certaines situations, la preuve par témoignage est interdite.

Les rapports d’experts

L’arbitre connaît bien la loi, mais son savoir peut être limité dans d’autres domaines. Par exemple, si votre cause comporte des questions techniques en termes de mécanique automobile, de programmation informatique ou de soins médicaux, l’arbitre aura besoin d’être éclairé par l’avis d’un expert pour trancher le litige.

L’expert est une personne dont la formation ou l’expérience pointue dans un domaine particulier lui permettent de donner des avis qualifiés sur cette matière. L’expert n’a pas besoin d’avoir été personnellement témoin des faits du litige et, contrairement aux témoins ordinaires, il peut donner son opinion sur les questions qui lui sont posées. Le tout sera laissé à l’appréciation de l’arbitre.

Les aveux

L’aveu est une admission ou une reconnaissance, par l’une des parties au litige, de faits qui lui nuisent ou contredisent ses prétentions. L’aveu peut résulter d’un écrit, de paroles, des gestes ou d’actions. Par exemple, si votre adversaire prétend qu’il vous a prêté de l’argent, alors que vous prétendez qu’il s’agissait plutôt d’un cadeau, vous auriez fait un aveu si à un moment donné, vous aviez discuté de termes de remboursement : le fait que vous ayez parlé de remboursement constitue un aveu de votre part que le contrat entre vous deux était un prêt et non pas un don. Si votre adversaire a fait un aveu, vous devriez le faire remarquer à l’arbitre!

 

Les éléments matériels

 

Un élément matériel est un objet physique que vous désirez montrer à l’arbitre. Dans le cas d’un objet qu’il est impossible d’amener avec vous le jour de votre audition, d’autres éléments de preuve seront nécessaires pour permettre à l’arbitre d’en prendre connaissance (par exemple, des photos ou une vidéo). Si vous comptez utiliser un élément matériel comme preuve, mentionnez-le dans vos prétentions.

Certaines preuves sont meilleures que d'autres!

Certaines preuves seront très convaincantes pour l’arbitre, alors que d’autres ne le seront pas ou peu. Pour être convaincante, une preuve doit avant tout être pertinente au débat. Par exemple, si vous prétendez que votre adversaire n’a pas respecté son contrat avec vous, il ne serait pas pertinent de faire témoigner quelqu’un qui a eu un problème similaire avec lui pour tenter de démontrer que votre adversaire n’est pas une personne fiable ou fidèle à sa parole.

Lorsque vous disposez de plusieurs moyens de prouver vos prétentions, vous devez fournir la meilleure preuve. Si vous ne soumettez pas la meilleure preuve, vous laissez planer le doute dans l’esprit de l’arbitre. Par exemple, si vous avez signé un contrat écrit avec votre adversaire, il sera plus convainquant de remettre ce contrat à l’arbitre, plutôt que de lui fournir un courriel ou un texto dans lequel votre entente est constatée.

Enfin, il est bon de rappeler que la version originale d’une preuve est toujours préférable, car elle est plus fiable.

 

La preuve interdite

Attention, certaines preuves pourraient ne pas être acceptées par l’arbitre! En voici quelques exemples.

La preuve non pertinente

Tel qu’expliqué ci-dessus, votre preuve doit être pertinente au litige que doit trancher l’arbitre. Votre procès arbitral ne doit pas être l’occasion de procéder à des attaques personnelles ou de régler d’autres querelles entre votre adversaire et vous, qui n’ont rien à voir avec votre différend. Par exemple, si vous poursuivez votre ex-conjoint pour récupérer votre automobile avec laquelle il est parti, il n’est pas pertinent de soumettre des preuves révélant qu’il vous a trompée avec votre meilleure amie durant votre relation. Même si c’est la raison pour laquelle vous vous êtes séparés, cela n’a rien à voir avec votre droit de propriété sur le véhicule. De même, certains éléments peuvent être liés au litige qui vous occupent, mais ne rien prouver.

 

La preuve portant atteinte aux droits_et_libertés fondamentaux

 

Vous ne pouvez pas soumettre une preuve obtenue dans des conditions qui portent atteinte aux droits et libertés garantis par la Charte canadienne ou la Charte québécoise. Par exemple, vous ne pourriez pas utiliser comme preuve des courriels ou des textos obtenus par un accès non autorisé sur l’ordinateur ou le téléphone d’une personne, ou encore une preuve obtenue grâce à une entrée par effraction dans le domicile de quelqu’un. Il s’agirait en effet de violations du droit à la vie privée ou du droit à l’inviolabilité de la demeure. Non seulement ces preuves seraient-elles irrecevables, mais vous vous exposeriez aussi possiblement à des poursuites criminelles!

 

Le ouï-dire

 

Un témoin peut seulement rapporter des faits dont il a eu personnellement connaissance. Il n’est pas acceptable, dans un témoignage, de rapporter des faits qui ont été racontés par une autre personne. Cela s’appelle un ouï-dire, et n’est pas recevable comme preuve. Il faut plutôt que la personne qui a eu connaissance des événements vienne elle-même témoigner.

 

Le témoignage pour contredire ou modifier un contrat écrit

 

Les paroles s’envolent, les écrits restent! Sauf exception, il n’est pas possible de contredire ou modifier les termes d’un contrat écrit grâce à un témoignage. Par exemple, si vous avez signé un contrat avec la partie adverse pour 8 000$, mais que par la suite, vous vous êtes entendus oralement pour réduire le prix à 6 000$, vous ne pourrez pas témoigner pour prouver que le prix a été réduit.

 

Le témoignage pour prouver les contrats de plus de 1 500$

 

Un témoignage n’est généralement pas admissible lorsqu’il s’agit de prouver l’existence ou le contenu d’un contrat d’une valeur de plus de 1 500$. Il existe toutefois deux exceptions à cette règle :

 

L’existence d’autres preuves

 

Si le témoignage est accompagné d’autres éléments de preuve valides au soutien de l’existence du contrat ou de son contenu, il sera alors admissible. Par exemple, une facture, un courriel, un relevé bancaire, une photographie, un texto, etc., peuvent rendre le témoignage acceptable.

 

Le contrat conclu dans le cadre d’activités d’entreprise

 

Si vous étiez le client d’une entreprise, votre témoignage pourrait servir à prouver l’existence d’un contrat verbal avec celle-ci. Par contre, l’entreprise ne pourrait pas, de son côté, prouver l’existence du contrat à l’aide d’un témoignage.

Des questions? Des incertitudes?

Si vous avez des questions sur la preuve à présenter lors de votre audition, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous!